More bugs in wild beans?

Ash Maki
@ash-maki
06/10/14 12:55:33PM
69 posts

I just acquired a order of wild beans from Bolivia and was wondering, as I have never used wild beans before, if they tend to have more bugs or if its just a bad batch as there is at least 25% insect damage. Definitely smaller and not the best job of fermenting but a decent enough looking bean aside from the insect damage. Thanks

updated by @ash-maki: 04/10/15 11:43:42AM
Sebastian
@sebastian
06/10/14 06:14:11PM
754 posts

well, there's really no such thing as a domesticated bean.. so...all beans will have bugs. if you are finding them on the inside at 25% level, that's a sure sign that they weren't taken care of properly post harvest, and someone's just offloading them to get rid of them.

Ash Maki
@ash-maki
06/10/14 07:08:23PM
69 posts

Yea thats pretty much what I was thinking and fortunately didn't get the larger order I was going to place. Thanks

brian horsley
@brian-horsley
06/11/14 09:53:21AM
48 posts

its nothing inherent in the beans, its a warehouse or transport issue. you're probably talking about polilla moths, they can have strong or weak years depending on weather and humidity patterns. polilla levels are also affected by the condition of the warehouse, whether they've fumigated recently, how long the beans are stored, and how and when they were transported. For Beni wild beans they have to go for days along river routes, then days in trucks up over the andes, then on a boat, the logistics are horrendous and polilla can multiply at various stages along the way. Its frankly a miracle that any of those beans make it to market without major damage, a true testament to Volker Lehman's prowess.

Ash Maki
@ash-maki
06/11/14 02:44:28PM
69 posts