Tempering for dipping

Magrietha Hendrika du Plessis
@magrietha-hendrika-du-plessis
07/17/11 10:10:06
83 posts

Me again, I have actually a few related questions. OK, first, if I am going to offer clients at a stall freshly dipped truffles rolled in whatever they want. Must that chocolate be perfectly tempered? I think, if not, it will not set fast enough even though we are not worried about shine as it is going to be rolled in something as well, but it still needs to set in a reasonable time. The idea for this is to try and find out what is popular for a future line we want to offer, so it is a little research as well as an effort to get some cash flow!

How do I keep sufficient chocolate hot and tempered (if I can get it in temper to start with as I am not good with it yet!) under the difficult conditions of a stall at a food market? We want to do that market as our target market goes there for entertainment.

Most important! I am so new at tempering I do not know what properly tempered chocolate looks like. I do it religiously according to the temperatures, sometimes it is not so bad and then, like last night, I end up with a fluid mass of chocolate that was only properly set this morning. My family thinks the truffles are divine, and they are difficult to please, but I cannot offer them to customers!

So, I hope you guys understand my questions as I am not very good at explaining myself.

Thanks

Magriet

updated by @magrietha-hendrika-du-plessis: 05/15/15 02:40:54
08/13/11 10:13:54
83 posts
Hi everyone, Please some help! I have solved some of the above already, but I am still worried about the dipping of the chocolate at the market. How do I keep chocolate tempered under such circumstances? To be honest I have trouble keeping it in temper in the kitchen! What am I doing wrong? When I start working with it it is fine, but after a very short while it is out of temper.
Clay Gordon
@clay
08/14/11 01:05:43
1,680 posts

Magriet: