truffles-- making in advance

Katie Perry
@katie-perry
09/09/12 07:17:53PM
16 posts

Hello -- I am a hobbyist, but have been contracted to make 300 truffles for a corporate party. Because of time and equipment limitations, I will have to spread out the production. I am wondering:

1) how far in advance I can make a complete product (ganache dipped and garnished)?

2) how long the ganache will remain in optimum condition undipped?

A few details: all are sliced slabs and the majority will be garnished with transfers. Some dark chocolate, some milk chocolate.

Thanks in advance!

Kate

updated by @katie-perry: 04/11/15 01:59:10AM
Katie Perry
@katie-perry
09/11/12 09:17:26AM
16 posts

OK -- I have figured out that I can get all of the truffles made and dipped within 4 or 5 days. I think that should be fine in terms of shelf life (please shout if you disagree!). I still have the other question though: how long can I leave the ganache undipped without degrading the quality? Also, when I am storing it in its undipped form, should it be stored in the regular fridge or can I keep it in my wine fridge (62 degrees)?

I know that the truffles garnished with transfers will hold up fine if they are dipped several days in advance. My concern are the others -- one garnished with a nut, the other with sea salt. I don't know how those will behave if they are dipped ahead of time and sit in the fridge for more than a day or so. Please help :)

Linda Schiaffino
@linda-schiaffino
09/18/12 04:11:27PM
5 posts

In my humble opinion, I don't think the wine fridge will be safe to store your truffles. I have dipped and held truffles for over a week, in a 40degree fridge and have been safe with them. I think if you look into invertase or some other mold inhibitors you might be able to increase your safety margin. I of course, defer to other experts who will hopefully be able to help you!

Katie Perry
@katie-perry
09/18/12 05:07:22PM
16 posts