Ideas for a chocolate festival...?

Porfyra
@porfyra
12/13/13 11:20:39AM
7 posts

Even though I'm not a professional, after some trips to Brussels I got more into chocolate, (almost at an addiction level) its history and its science and researched the subject deeper. My country is not really known for its chocolate so I had the idea of setting up a chocolate festival for a beginning to see how it goes and help people get more into the real chocolate.

I gathered some professionals and serious hobbyists in the field and we eventually got a lot more visitors than anyone ever expected. Since then potential sponsors also contacted us, so this time I'd like to prepare something bigger, more organized and with more workshops.

We had exhibitions on how filled chocolates are made,real hot chocolate and tempering techniques for this time.

I'd really appreciate any ideas for further workshops or anything you believe would be interesting for someone to see in the next chocolate festival.

Thank you!

updated by @porfyra: 04/21/15 04:43:14PM
Ashley2
@ashley2
12/14/13 09:45:08PM
11 posts
I've found a food photography workshop to be really helpful. Just a basic how to use your phone or point and shoot camera.Perhaps one that has an emphasis on current trends, handmade marshmallows are popular in US, maybe demo a s'more truffle, or deconstructed s'more.Bean to bar is super trendy right now too. A workshop showing how to do so on a small/hobbyist scale.Pairings would be cool too, chocolate paired with beer or wine, local produce etc.Also a lecture about sustainability would be helpful. The difference between fair and direct trade, what to think about when sourcing ingredients, especially cocoa.These are workshops I would go to :)Good luck!
Porfyra
@porfyra
12/15/13 07:29:22AM
7 posts

Thanks a lot ! Loved your advice ! :)

Anjali Gupta
@anjali-gupta
12/15/13 10:37:08AM
14 posts

Hi Porfyra,