Fermentation Scientist in the making

Caitlin Clark
@caitlin-clark
07/01/16 01:42:56AM
2 posts

Hi all,

I'm new to Chocolate Life but very excited to have found it.

I work at bean-to-bar maker Nuance Chocolate in Fort Collins, Colorado, and in addition to that I am doing graduate work in the Fermentation Science program at Colorado State.  My goal is to pursue cacao fermentation as a specialty and as a career. 

I have read everything I can find about cacao fermentation, but there is much that is still unknown and even more that is unpublished.  If anyone wants to talk fermentation, I would be very, very eager to engage.  No one is really "teaching" this stuff, so I'm on the lookout for any type of contact, resource, or information.  I am beginning to form some ideas about the direction I'd like to take my studies, but I'd really like to hear from people who know more than I do.  What are the "big holes"?  What information do we most need?  What about the fermentation process is being missed or overlooked?  What are some potential research projects?  What would you bean-to-bar makers like to study yourselves, if you could, but don't have time to?  What have you wondered about?  What connections would you like to see made?  What connections have YOU made, or guessed about, but can't prove? 

Hope there is some reaction this--I know what I think about some of these things, but would really like to hear from others in the business. 

Can't waiit to dive into all the good info that's on this forum!

Cait

Clay Gordon
@clay
07/03/16 02:51:32PM
1,680 posts

Caitlin -