White chocolate instead of cocoa butter on molds

Thomas T
@thomas-t
02/09/10 09:58:44PM
3 posts
Hello everyone!

I'm new to working with chocolate, so sorry if this is an obvious question. I'm about to get some polycarbonate molds and I want to experiment with coloring them. I understand that the usual process is to paint a small amount of colored cocoa butter into the cavities. Where I live white chocolate is much more easily available than cocoa butter. Could I paint colored white chocolate into the molds instead of cocoa butter? Do I need to temper the white chocolate if I am just using it to pain the mold?

Thanks!

updated by @thomas-t: 04/12/15 06:50:41PM
Thomas T
@thomas-t
02/10/10 11:31:55AM
3 posts
Thanks! I have oil-based colors. Will they work?
Thomas T
@thomas-t
02/13/10 12:14:51PM
3 posts
Ok thanks. I used oil colors and a few of them didn't demold correctly, so I'll try to get some powder colors.One other question: I found a site that sells cocoa butter. White chocolate is much more easily available, but if I got cocoa butter would I still have to temper it?Thanks!
Chris6
@chris6
03/25/10 06:53:33PM
6 posts
You dont have to temper the cocoa butter, but you do still need to temper the chocolate if you want a nice finish. Chef Rubber has amazing colored cocoa butters.
Magrietha Hendrika du Plessis
@magrietha-hendrika-du-plessis
06/15/11 09:48:40AM
83 posts
This question is also very important for me. I live in South Africa and really cannot seem to get hold of cocoa butter, so some tempered, colored white chocolate will do? Do you temper before or after you add the coloring? I tried this before and I were not too successful I also found that the powdered coloring affected the taste of the chocolate. Was I just using too much coloring? Does it happen with the colored cocoa butter?
Richard Foley
@richard-foley
06/15/11 06:22:02PM
48 posts