Question on using double molds

Kris Schoofs
@kris-schoofs
03/14/12 09:08:33AM
9 posts

I was thinking about trying out this double polycarbonate mould from Chocolate world: http://goo.gl/UaJo6

I'm familiar with regular (single) moulds but I've never used double moulds before. I was hoping someone could give me some pointers on how to use them?

Do I simply make hollow shells in both moulds (just like with regular moulds), then fill both halfs with a filling and then put them both together? However, in this scenario it appears that you're relying on the filling to keep both halves together? So I would assume that this also requires a filling that crystalizes sufficiently? Or is there a way to make the actual chocolate shells adhere to eachother?

Also, I was wondering if it is possible to also make hollow figures with this double mould? Now there's no filling to keep both halves together, so I was thinking about partially filling the first mould, then putting the 2nd mould on top and covering the entire inner surface of both moulds with chocolate by vigorously shaking the entire mold?

Any info on this is much appreciated.

Kris

updated by @kris-schoofs: 04/29/15 06:35:18AM
Gap
@gap
03/14/12 05:20:05PM
182 posts

I think I have seen this mould before and it is a standard type mould that just happens to have a front and back for the bunny (ie., it's not a3D mould where you clip the back/front together while moulding).

That said, you can do either filling or no filling. Make your shells (and fill if desired). Unmould. Heat a tray in the oven to approx 40C and quickly touch the edges of your shells to the tray and then press/hold them together. It only needs a small amount of melted chocolate to make the two halves stick together.

Hope that I've explained myself clearly

Cheers

Mark Heim
@mark-heim
03/14/12 07:32:30PM
101 posts