Wholesale Fair Trade Organic chocolate

Sarah Thieben
@sarah-thieben
10/31/08 09:42:21AM
1 posts
Can somebody please help me? I run a small gourmet toffee business in Dayton OH. I have 4 different flavors of toffee and currently use belgian milk, dark (72%) and bittersweet (65%) chocolates which are available in 1lb 1oz bars. I am very interested in switching to a high quality fair trade organic chocolate. I have tried Dagoba but wasn't very impressed.I am a chocolate novice--I can appreciate really good chocolate more than the average Joe but get a little intimidated when I start reading this site, although I definitely appreciate the wealth of information. I am especially interested in finding a chocolatier who might be interested in working with me to create chocolate specifically for the toffee.Can anyone point me in the right direction, give me some leads, give me your opinions on the fair trade organic chocolate that's out there, or in any other way help me out?Thank you very much and I look forward to hearing back.
updated by @sarah-thieben: 04/19/15 05:50:54AM
Bruce Toy (Coppeneur)
@bruce-toy-coppeneur
11/02/08 10:08:47PM
15 posts
Coppeneur creates couverture from a single organic plantation in Ecuador and a single organic plantation in Madagascar. Their couverture is not "Fair Trade". Correct me if I'm wrong but it's my understanding that "Fair Trade" chocolate and coffee must be sourced from a farmers co-op. In other words chocolate or coffee from a single plantation can never be labeled as fair trade.Fair trade chocolate or coffee can sometimes be a marketing ploy to sell sub-standard beans. Certain consumers will only purchase fair trade chocolate or coffee because it makes them feel good, not because it tastes good.Outstanding cocoa and coffee beans are nearly always sold at prices above fair trade.
Clay Gordon
@clay
11/03/08 08:26:02AM
1,680 posts