Michael Karren
@michael-karren
09/04/12 01:04:54PM
12 posts
I have been adding invertase to my fondants right before dipping to soften them. I add a couple of drops per 1 lb of fondant. I don't notice much of a change. Am I doing something wrong or expecting too great of results. Also I am keeping the invertase in the refrigerator as I was t
updated by @michael-karren: 04/10/15 05:20:42AM
Michael Karren
@michael-karren
09/04/12 01:06:50PM
12 posts
Cont. I wa told to keep it cold. I am interested in your feed back. How soft should I expect them to become? Should it be a big difference? Thanks!
mda@umgdirectresponse.com
@michael-arnovitz
09/04/12 06:57:38PM
59 posts

I am not an expert, but my understanding is that the ratio of invertase to fondant should range between .1-.3%. The larger amount will make the process speed up a bit. So for a pound of fondant (454 grams), you would want to use .5 to 1.5 grams of invertase. I'm guessing this is about 1/4 tsp, but you should of course do things like this by weight not volume.

As for keeping it cold, I don't think so. You want to make sure you don't add the invertase into a fondant mixture that is too hot (nothing over 150F), but once the final pieces have been dipped storing them at a cold temperature actually slows down the process. So if you want to move the process along keep them at the same general room temp you keep your other confections. Others here with more experience may have more (or better) info however.

Sebastian
@sebastian
09/04/12 08:26:47PM
754 posts