adding flavorings - help needed

Cary Chilton
@cary-chilton
12/06/14 01:19:32PM
2 posts

I haven't gotten a level where I am producing the chocolate in my kitchen.... rather my homemade chocolates are just melted down dark chocolate blends.So I am a definite beginner.

My question is how do I add almond or peppermint to my melted chocolate? Most extracts I have seen (clubhouse etc) have water and alcohol. Unfortunately, I already learned what that does to cooking chocolate! :( I did a search for peppermint oil or almond oil and all I could find is essential oil for aromatherapy! hehe What do I do / buy?

Thank you

Merry Christmas / Joyeux Noel

updated by @cary-chilton: 04/12/15 06:10:43AM
Larry2
@larry2
12/06/14 01:48:05PM
110 posts

We use LorAnn oils.Several stores sell them, or you could get them online. http://shop.lorannoils.com/chocolates/super-strength-flavors/1-dram...

They are much, much cheaper than the "Super Healthy, Super Duper, Super Commissioned" essential oils.

I couldn't speak to if one is better than the other.

Note: some are oils, some are flavors with water & alcohol.

Cary Chilton
@cary-chilton
12/06/14 01:58:14PM
2 posts

thanks - since water and alcohol turns melted down chocolate into flaky hard mud . ... how could extracts with water or alcohol be used if at all?

Larry2
@larry2
12/06/14 05:09:31PM
110 posts
Don't use the alcohol or water ones. Use the oil ones.Just pay attention when ordering. ;)
Ilya Snowdon
@ilya-snowdon
07/06/15 09:04:28AM
20 posts

if you use Organic essential oils you can be confident they will be food safe, with no traces of pesticides or chemicals. 

Sebastian
@sebastian
07/06/15 06:37:46PM
754 posts

your alcohol based flavors will be fine.  use oil soluable if you can find them, but if not, alcohol based will work just fine.

Ilya Snowdon
@ilya-snowdon
07/06/15 11:01:34PM
20 posts