help with El Rey tempering!!

thomas
@thomas
03/22/09 12:18:33PM
5 posts
I am new here and I need help. I have been using El Rey for 3 years with limited success.I am using 61% in a chocovision X3210. I rarely get consistent results, and rarely is it tempered when the machine says it is supposed to be, I generaly will have to work a portion of the chocolate on a marble slab and even then it not always works . I am not in a temperature controlled room but it is fairly consistent room temp. Does any one have experience with both the machine and El Rey chocolate? Note: I have contacted chocovision (chocolatier Joe) and he has been helpful but still inconsistent results.My molded chocolates look OK but my dipped are inconsistent. Any help is apprecieated.Thanks Thomas
updated by @thomas: 04/10/15 06:18:24PM
Rich
@rich
03/22/09 11:14:31PM
17 posts
I'm sorry to say I can't help, but I am looking forward to responses to your question. It seems the only consistency I have is inconsistency. I think temperature and humidity is very important. I'm still looking for the right combination. In the past, I've stored Valrhona Guanaja individually wrapped pieces in the wine cellar with great results. As soon as I started making my own pieces the wine cellar seems NOT to be the place to store them. I think too much humidity. I'm getting sugar bloom/grainy consistency. And this is after they are set and seem to be fine. This chocolate making is not for sissies. Aloha
JOE CREVINO
@joe-crevino
03/29/09 10:25:36AM
6 posts
Increase start temp to 115F. Use temper 2 on machine. If that does not work go to Chocovision site and emailme your phone number and I will call.(on Chocovison site click on my picture and send phone number)joe crevino
thomas
@thomas
03/29/09 10:03:58PM
5 posts