Stabilizing Chocolate Sauce

Andy Ciordia
@andy-ciordia
02/08/10 03:19:26PM
157 posts
We usually don't stabilize anything (we encourage refridgeration and timely consumption) and some of the retail stores we are looking at have asked us to do just that.

Our current recipe includes egg yolk & butter as the two main spoilage components. I have been told that getting powdered egg yolks will lower the water count and make it much more likely for shelf stability, does the dairy in butter have any considerations?

Does anyone have any resources on shelf stabilizing chocolate, caramel, or other styles of sauces like these?

updated by @andy-ciordia: 04/30/15 05:43:02AM
Jeff Stern
@jeff-stern
02/10/10 07:01:38PM
78 posts
I am not a professional food scientist by any means, but powdered egg yolks may reduce your water activity as you noted. Dairy does have consideration. If you are using a butter ganache or butter in your sauce, there is a natural preservative made from oil of rosemary that delays rancidity and is FDA accepted. It is used in such small proportions that it will not introduce any "off" flavors into your chocolate sauces/ganaches. There is also a new product that is organic and citrus-based from a Canadian place called Biosecur, used in proportions of less than 1% of formula to prevent bacterial/fungal growth.I would highly suggest you purchase a lab Aw meter if you're really concerned about water activity in your formula. They can be had for under $2000.If you're worried about stability as in broken sauce or ganache and the emulsion breaking, you might try xantham gum.Again, though, I qualify this-I am not a food scientist and you'd probably be best off consulting with one for your issue.Best of luck!Jeff
Andy Ciordia
@andy-ciordia
02/14/10 01:12:29PM
157 posts