blending couverture

peter guppy
@peter-guppy
09/06/10 05:48:31PM
3 posts

Hi all

I want to start blending different couvertures to create my own unique flavours and have a couple of questions relating to technique and flavours.

Technique

I work with a 15k table top tempering machine and was wondering if blending was as simple as putting the right present of each couverture in the machine to melt the bulk & then seedingwith the correct percentage of each couverture?

Flavours

I only intend to blend dark/dark, milk/milk & white/white.

As a novice I haveno idea how the various couvertures mixed will work together and would appreciate any views, opinions & experience on this matter.

If anyone could guide me in the direction of any reference material on this subject it would be much appreciated.

Apologise if this has previously being covered in the forum. Ive had a search but not find anything. Let me know if you need more details from me.

Thanks in advance.

Peter

updated by @peter-guppy: 04/10/15 09:13:33PM
Sebastian
@sebastian
09/09/10 08:03:30AM
754 posts
Yup, you're on the right track. It's not rocket science, so don't over complicate it by seeding with both types of what you're blending. I'd personally choose the chocolate that has the least milk fat (most cocoa butter) in it to seed with, but both will work. Do it on a small scale (100g) first and taste it to see if it's giving you the flavor profile you want.
Mark Heim
@mark-heim
09/09/10 09:04:06PM
101 posts
Easy would be to just mix the blend to taste, then temper the blend. The temperature to temper to will depend on the amount of milk fat. So a blend of dark and milk will temper between either, same dark/white, or milk/white. You have to deal with the same thing with different milk chocolates tempering at different temperatures.
peter guppy
@peter-guppy
09/10/10 09:29:31AM
3 posts