Ambanja Pics - http://tonylange.jalbum.net/

Anthony Lange
@anthony-lange
10/05/10 10:48:59AM
34 posts
For those interested in Ambanja - Madagascar and the farm Cacao Industry you can check out these pics which I took on my recient trip to Ambanja.

updated by @anthony-lange: 05/08/15 10:39:41PM
Jim2
@jim2
10/05/10 02:02:40PM
49 posts
Anthony,I enjoyed your photo essay on Madagascar. I'm a bean producer in Brazil and have a keen interest in how they are produced in other parts of the world.It was an eye opener to see the methods used to transport, clean and store cocoa beans. Madagascar is obviously far behind Brazil in social and economic development. To see six women hand sorting and cleaning cacao is far from a reality in Brazil. I prepared several tons of beans for a client using this method and took a bath in labor costs. We have since installed machines that originally were designed for coffee. There were design changes and some long hours of adjustment but most of the grading is now mechanized.Was the site you photographed a co-operative? It seemed like a very large operation for a single farmstead in Madagascar. Who and how do they maintain quality control of the processes?Again, very good photos and much insight in another part of the cocoa world.Best regardsJim Lucas
Anthony Lange
@anthony-lange
10/06/10 04:41:46AM
34 posts
Good Day JimYou are right. Madagascar is a county in free fall at the monent and the locals will do ANYTHING to earn a few pesos. (read Euros). Not only that but the beans are mixed at source so no one knows if its Forestero / Crilollo, Trinitario or what the hell goes on. Some co-ops wash after fermentation, most don't, I did see a sorting machine but as you can see it was used for a cloths horse. The pics are from Millot SA (the big ones) the smaller are from small farmers. Quality control???? whats that? but the beans are amongst the best in the world - as you know!
Jim2
@jim2
10/06/10 06:01:45AM
49 posts