Sculpting Chocolate - Any Advice?

Janice Tividad
@janice-tividad
05/02/11 07:40:41AM
2 posts

Hello all, my name is Janice and Im new to The Chocolate Life :)

Im looking to start a business incorporating chocolate cake decorations and confectionery here in the UK and I wanted to ask a few questions to the members here:

Have any of you had any experience with sculpting chocolate? I have researched this and the only information I could find on the subject involved adding glucose/corn syrup in order to make chocolate plastique which Im not really keen on doing if I can help it as Ive heard that it then makes the chocolate taste like a certain branded candy which really isnt the taste or texture that Im going for!

Ive managed to use up small batches of tempered chocolate by hand (by which I mean golf ball sized pieces at the most) to shape into a basic figure before letting this set and then carving into it but I wondered if anyone knew how I could go about turning chocolate into a putty/plasticine-like texture in larger batches without having to add any extra sugar/syrups; or is this unavoidable? I have been using Callebaut White Chocolate if this helps.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

updated by @janice-tividad: 04/22/15 06:45:31AM
Wendy Buckner
@wendy-buckner
05/05/11 12:40:52AM
35 posts

Hi Janice! It is completely avoidable... You should check out the Sculpting with Chocolate Group! There are many ways to make chocolate decorations without using chocolate plastique. I make many chocolate decorations myself and refuse to use plastique. You may want to check out a book by Jean-Pierre Wybauw called "Chocolate Decorations". Chef Wybauw has a lot of helpful tips. I'm happy to help out how I can as well.

~Wendy

Laura Marion
@laura-marion
05/06/11 09:16:53AM
27 posts
yes as Wendy said, this book is very good !!!
Laura Marion
@laura-marion
05/06/11 09:19:21AM
27 posts