help!!! what do I need to open an artisan chocolate shop??

maria teresa gonzalez
@maria-teresa-gonzalez
09/11/11 08:38:55PM
2 posts

Hello!!!!

I am a chocolate lover, and i have recently started to consider opening an chocolate shop wih a friend.

I am an artist and at the same time I have been running a family shopping mall.

I want ti change career and have been thinking about the chocolate business.

My friend is a documentalist.

We have been investigating but appart from the love of chocolate i do not know anything about the business.

Any advice>??one of my main concerns is to know if knowing how to make chocolates is a must in order to open the store. Do I need to depend on a chef??any advice welcome.

Many thanks,

Maria Teresa from Venezuela

updated by @maria-teresa-gonzalez: 04/11/15 08:55:42PM
Mark J Sciscenti
@mark-j-sciscenti
10/04/11 12:30:36PM
33 posts

Maria, I would suggest that you consider learning how to make the chocolate yourself - either as a chocolatier or learning the steps from pod to bar (cocoa plantation/fruit and the steps necessary to develop and make chocolate from the seeds or beans as they are called in the chocolate industry).

Starting with your passion is great. However, if you are going to rely on someone else's skill then you are in the position of being the owner of a chocolate shop but not the chocolatier and are relying on someone else's abilities and taste buds.

I do not know what options are available in Venezuela for learning how to make chocolate - what culinary schools and/or chocolate shops that will take you on to train you (less likely as they may not be interested in sharing there "secrets"). I don't know what is up with El-Rey these days but you might approach them.

I can imaging that there are lots of options in Latin America for you to explore this.