kitchen aide panning machine

Matt Carter
@matt-carter
09/22/11 12:11:13PM
9 posts

hi folks.

I am wondering if the kitchen aide panning attachment is worth the 575 they want for it ?

I understand that it is not made by kitchenaide, but by a French company, and I would like to make sure that it will work on my model, and make large enough batches that it is cost effective to spend the money on the equipemt and labor,

also I have never used a panning machine before, i'd ike to hear people;s experiences.

thanks.

updated by @matt-carter: 04/11/15 01:02:54AM
Jeff Stern
@jeff-stern
09/22/11 05:33:20PM
78 posts
Ive got this one ... http://www.dr.ca/confectionery-coating-pan-attachment.html Its abou $75 cheaper. Use it all the time and it works well. Its cost effective if you are going to regularly sell panned items. Panning is a blend of art and science. The more you can control your environment the better. Takes some practice and time to figure out what makes it work, what doesnt work. Its not something you can just put on your machine and go. But the more you do it, the more you develop a feel/intuition for what works and doesn't work.
Gap
@gap
09/22/11 06:42:27PM
182 posts
Must agree with what Jeff has to say about panning. Really is something you need to have someone show you tips and tricks for and spend a lot of time getting right. Environment is incredibly important to the finished product so being in a humidity/temperature controlled room is very important.
Matt Carter
@matt-carter
09/22/11 06:42:27PM
9 posts

thanks for the reply.

that looks like the same machine, but the best price I have seen so far.

from what I understand, you put in your coffee beans or nuts, and slowly pour in tempered chocolate as it turns?

Matt Carter
@matt-carter
09/22/11 11:31:18PM
9 posts

here is a good conversation that I found on the topic. **

http://forums.egullet.org/index.php?/topic/121548-panning/