Tempering help please

Magrietha Hendrika du Plessis
@magrietha-hendrika-du-plessis
11/10/11 02:05:01AM
83 posts

I am having problems again and I do not know if it is me or not. Is it at all possible to temper chocolate with room temperatures between 28C and 30C? This is what I have, I do not have aircon and I am not succeeding in tempering any chocolate at all. I am desperate as I have nothing to sell on Saturday.

What else I need to know is whether the heat can also give me trouble with making my ganache. I am having problems with it refusing to work. I end up with a blob of chocolate floating in fat! I am new to lots of work with chocolate but I have been making ganache for years and this is the first time I have this happening all the time.

I hope you have some advice for me. Is it impossible in this heat or is it me that can suddenly not do anything right at all!

updated by @magrietha-hendrika-du-plessis: 05/09/15 05:42:51AM
chocochoco
@chocochoco
11/11/11 10:02:02AM
56 posts

Hello Magrietha,

Your room temperature is too high. I have never tempered chocolate at this room temperature. It shouldn't be higher than 22C.

Have you tempered chocolate without problem before with such high room temperature?

Maybe the chocolate is in temper, but your confections are not cooling down fast enough because of the room temperature.

For your ganache problem, did you try using a different batch or bagof chocolate or cream? Maybe you had a bad batch.

Regards,

Omar

11/11/11 10:14:32AM
83 posts

Thanks Omar, yes I think it is in temper but not cooling down fast enough because I notice that the little leftover chocolate actually sets just fine and has no chocolate bloom at all. Must be the heat. Money or not, I will have to get an aircon as I have never had to temper at such high temperatures and it simply does not work. I think I just needed some confirmation that it is not me.