New guy here, Looking to setup a chocolate nad confectionery business!

Jacob Anthony
@jacob-anthony
12/29/11 09:55:24PM
2 posts

Hi guys,

My name's Jacob and I'm from a town called Pontypridd, in Wales UK. I'm a chef by trade but have always had a passion for chocolate and confectionery like hard candies and jellies. I've decided that, after helping my wife setup a business making chutneys and preserves, I want to set up my own venture making chocolates and confectionery. So I've bought a book called "Chocolates and Confections" By Peter Greweling to try and teach myself to make chocolates as I'm on a tight budget.

My question is am I going to get enough of a grounding in producing chocolates to start a small chocolate business just by learning what is being taught in that book or are there other books I need to learn from beforeI even consider starting a chocolate business?

Is it even possible to start a chocolate business being self taught?

PS I have looked at chocolate courses in the UK, but they are expensive residential courses.

Thanks in advance for reading!

Jacob

updated by @jacob-anthony: 04/11/15 04:56:02AM
Omar Forastero
@omar-forastero
01/03/12 09:39:37AM
86 posts

hey Jacob,

I recommend ecole chocolat's online course. Very useful in depth info and will for sure help you start up your business.

http://www.ecolechocolat.com

Scott Daniels
@scott-daniels
01/07/12 09:10:40AM
4 posts