Theobromine: source for?

Barb Stuckey
@barb-stuckey
05/14/12 03:09:41PM
1 posts

Hi everyone. I'm new to The Chocolate Life so I hope I'm doing this correctly!

I'm looking for a source of theobromine that's extracted/removed from cocoa beans, i.e. not synthesized.

Does anyone know a good source for this ingredient?

Barb

updated by @barb-stuckey: 06/29/23 06:49:02PM
Sebastian
@sebastian
05/15/12 06:03:46AM
754 posts

Callebaut was trying to commercialize something akin to this a few years ago, but it was never commercially available and it's terribly expensive (it's callebaut, after all...). I've not seen it anywhere else. If you're handy, average theobromine in shells is 2%, you can do a water extraction followed by a crystallization and produce it yourself.

Tom
@tom
05/15/12 07:06:11AM
205 posts
I am intrigued, what would you want it for?
antonino allegra
@antonino-allegra
05/15/12 04:44:27PM
143 posts

Me too! what can you do with?

a "RED-theobromine-BULL"

anti-depressant nasal spray?

anti oxidant body oils?

what else.... with 200 kg of shell per month it could be intersting....

Extraction: boil in water and then boil the water down? would it "kill" the theobromine?

Sebastian
@sebastian
05/15/12 07:12:18PM
754 posts

No.

Tom
@tom
05/15/12 07:30:37PM
205 posts

You can do the same with tea and extract the caffeine, it was a second year uni chemistry prac. Maybe they should do theobromine too, the prac would smell pretty good at least.

Brad Churchill
@brad-churchill
05/15/12 07:49:48PM
527 posts

I'm curious too. Why would someone want to extract Theobromine? What use is it?

Sebastian
@sebastian
05/16/12 06:20:43AM
754 posts

It's the kissing cousin to caffeine. Stimulant. Also some evidence that it's pretty effective at suppressing the vagus nerve, which is what kicks off the coughing reflex - making it a natural cough suppressant.