Chocolate Education. What is best?

Lici D
@lici-d
07/27/12 01:37:08AM
2 posts

So I call myself a hobbyist but my husband believes I could potentially create a business out of my chocolate love. I have been teaching myself for about three years from books, a little youtube, and DVDS.I live in Las Vegas and in town I have a few options to take classes but they range from $500 at the community college to 2,000-3,000 for a series of classes with major chocolatiers. I have a friend who is a baker who feels that if I am serious about chocolate I should go to culinary school for baking. I am told that apart of many baking programs there are chocolate classes. I am not really interested in baking however just chocolate.

At this point I feel that if I had some training I would love to do something with my chocolate passion. But I am not sure what is needed. Is it better to go to culinary school and as my friend put it "get a full rounded education" or is it enough to take a few chocolate classes. The other idea I had was maybe convince a shop to take me on as an apprentice. I am willing to do the work to learn but what is the best way to go about it if I want to eventually be a professional chocolatier?

updated by @lici-d: 04/09/15 01:16:17PM
Ruth Atkinson Kendrick
@ruth-atkinson-kendrick
07/27/12 09:46:57AM
194 posts

You have Chef Rubber in Vegas that offers courses taught by some of Las Vegas's top chocolatiers. I also like your apprenticing idea. Find out if you really like it as a profession.

Andrea B
@andrea-bauer
07/27/12 04:59:37PM
92 posts