Questions regarding tempering & molding

Jo-Ellen Fairbanks
@jo-ellen-fairbanks
06/05/11 10:24:02PM
9 posts

Hi - I am relatively new to making chocolates and have learned through books and the internet. 80% of the time my chocolates turn out very wellbutI am at the point where Icould really usesome sage advice to help refine my process. If you could help me out I'd really appreciate it.

1. It often takes me 2hrs to hand temper about 2 lbs of chocolate using the seeding method. Is it normal to take so long? The room temp is 68 F and I'm getting blisters from stirring.

2. How do you know if your chocolate is over-tempered? What is the best way to correct over-tempered chocolate?

3. My chocolateappears (to me at least) to get very thick when it finally gets into temper (I always do a temper test before using it) and then because of its viscosity it gets very had to mold into shells. I've tried adding cocoa butter. Any other remedies you could recommend?

4. I have read that molded shells should be put in the fridge to set and I've read to absolutely not use the fridge. I've read that coolng chocolate to fast causes bloom but I've also read that cooling chocolate to slow also causes bloom. Which is correct? What is the best way to mold shells?

Thanks, Jo-Ellen

updated by @jo-ellen-fairbanks: 04/11/15 04:58:35PM
Gap
@gap
06/06/11 02:22:34AM
182 posts

Everyone has their own opinions on things like this, but I'll have a go at answering for you:

1. 2 hours sounds way too long. I temper 3-4 kilos of chocolate using the seed method in about 15-20 minutes. I'm sure there's others out there who do it faster as well.