Cocoatown Melanger Belt Change

Katherine Botelho
@katherine-botelho
02/28/12 05:03:06PM
8 posts

It's time for my first belt change on my Cocoatown Melanger. Inno Concepts tells me that I shouldn't attempt this myself, and that the motor "may" need to be removed in order to change the belt. Has anyone on this forum done this themselves? I'm a newbie.

updated by @katherine-botelho: 04/09/15 10:32:49PM
Felipe Jaramillo F.
@felipe-jaramillo-f
02/28/12 05:56:16PM
55 posts

It shouldn't be too hard to do it yourself. When I was starting out I went to a hardware shop that also repaired appliances like blenders to help me put it together.

I didn't see why the motor would need to be removed to remove the belt.

What you need to know if that the black plastic ring which holds the metal coupling to the bowl is removable. This allows you to separate the top of the machine from the bottom, with the large wheel and makes running the new belt from the motor to the wheel easier. It needs a bit of stretching to fit tight.

As for replacements I read good comments about using Powertwist belts which may last longer.

Hope this helps. How long did the original belt last?

Maria6
@maria6
02/29/12 01:19:41AM
35 posts
Yes, I have done it myself. And it's quite easy. It's very important that you find the same size of belt and to pay attention to the alignement.
Katherine Botelho
@katherine-botelho
02/29/12 10:30:50AM
8 posts

Hi Maria, thanks for the reply. I got the exact belt it needs directly from Inno Concepts, so that shouldn't be an issue. So no motor removal necessary? I actually found a tutorial online on how to replace the belt in a Santha, and I assume it's a similar process (although Inno told me no) I think they're just trying to get me to ship it back to them & pay them to do it....

Katherine Botelho
@katherine-botelho
02/29/12 10:37:41AM
8 posts