At what stage to add lecithin

Chirag Bhatia
@chirag-bhatia
03/07/12 02:18:27AM
27 posts

hi guys,

I'm new to chocolate making can you'll please tell me when i should add the lecithin to the other ingredients?

updated by @chirag-bhatia: 04/20/15 12:32:31AM
Journey Shannon
@journey-shannon
03/07/12 03:24:41PM
4 posts
Lecithin is an emulsifier and it's not needed. You can make a great batch of Chocolat without it. If you choose to use it I would suggest when you add your sugar and vanilla, if using.
Chirag Bhatia
@chirag-bhatia
03/07/12 04:34:03PM
27 posts

thanks journey

I'veread alot of discussions regarding the use of lecithin .. both positive and negative. i have made two batches of chocolate before this and did not use in either. This batch that i am making has genorous amounts of milk powder and sugar (most indians prefer milk chocolate, though i prefer dark) and thus i decided to use it to help with viscosity issues. do u think milk chocolate can be mabe without lecithin?

the formulation i used is

250 gms nibs

150 gms cocoa butter

200 gms milk powder

50 gms clarified butter

halfa vanilla pod

1-2 gms lecithin

Sebastian
@sebastian
03/08/12 06:29:59AM
754 posts

First, remember that lecithin is all about reducing the amount of cocoa butter you use; therefore as Journey notes, it's not essential. If you choose not to use it, you simply compensate by adding more cocoa butter.

Second, it's awfully difficult to tell you when to use it w/o knowing more specifics, such as:

- in your formula, you need to first calculate what the % fat is. it's impossible for me to do so with the information provided (ie you say milk powder - is that skim milk? whole milk? and if whole, is it 26% or 28%?)