Does anyone know how much money I need to start a small bean to chocolate bar shop.

Priscilla A
@priscilla-a
11/25/13 07:45:31PM
8 posts

I am passionate about chocolate and want to start a bean to chocolate bar shop in Maryland. I have no experience in the chocolate business. I intend to rent a space for the shop.

updated by @priscilla-a: 04/13/15 10:52:50AM
Brad Churchill
@brad-churchill
11/25/13 09:48:48PM
527 posts

$150,000 at least

Priscilla A
@priscilla-a
11/25/13 09:54:43PM
8 posts

Thanks for your prompt respone. Does the $150,000 include rent and chocolate machinery like tempering machine and cocoa bean grinding machine?

Andrea B
@andrea-bauer
11/25/13 11:17:17PM
92 posts
Part of starting a business is writing a detailed business plan, which includes investigating the costs you are talking about here as well as every other aspect of running a business. You will never succeed without a business plan. I would suggest you research the equipment you might need and the costs of the various options at the same time. This is due diligence and you really need to complete this before you decide if opening this business is even viable.
Brad Churchill
@brad-churchill
11/26/13 04:47:28AM
527 posts

I agree with Andrea.

Clay Gordon
@clay
11/27/13 05:15:07PM
1,680 posts

Priscilla -