Guitar cutter

Dirke Botsford
@dirke-botsford
04/19/14 12:12:14AM
98 posts

I am thinking of biting the bullet and buying a guitar cutter, and looking for a supplier in Canada. Anyone know of anyone? or even a used one....

Secondly, any recommendations? Double guitar or single? Pros or cons...do you find you use it enough to justify the cost? I am sure it beats using a knife but just wondering if it's worth it and would love to know your thoughts.

Thanks in advance!

updated by @dirke-botsford: 06/29/23 06:49:02PM
Daniel Herskovic
@daniel-herskovic
04/19/14 09:57:23PM
132 posts

Hello Dirke,

I make my living making chocolate confections and I will tell you that my confectionery guitar is one of my most important pieces of equipment. They are pricey pieces of equipment, but ultimately this tool helps me save money and make money. Several years ago when I was cutting with a knife, I would end up throwing a good amount of chocolate away because the resulting ganache was either too big or too small or funny shaped. Prior to chocolate I spent 10 years cooking in fine dining. I have excellent knife skills; however, cutting ganache is tricky and sticky and it is very hard to cut thousands of pieces into perfect squares. These days, I have very little waste and the guitar helps me produce more chocolate confections in a much shorter amount of time.