adding cocoa butter when tempering

Julie Lu
@julie-lu
12/05/14 05:36:08AM
6 posts

Hello:

I am new to chocolate and just read that it's possible to add cocoa butter when tempering to make the chocolate more shiny and improve taste. Can anyone comment on whether this is a good idea? I would like to know before starting to do this in case it's wont' turn out.

Thanks and have a wonderful holiday season!

Julie

updated by @julie-lu: 04/10/15 06:41:54PM
Brad Churchill
@brad-churchill
12/07/14 01:27:59AM
527 posts

Personally, I don't think it's a good idea at all, and it certainly won't improve taste. In fact, adding cocoa butter in most cases will MUTE the taste of the chocolate.

mda@umgdirectresponse.com
@michael-arnovitz
12/07/14 04:38:48PM
59 posts

Brad - Callebaut has been pushing this idea. Not surprisingly, they suggest using their "Mycryo" brand of cocoa butter. It probably works, and for a home hobbyist it might very well be an easier method. I don't know; I haven't tried it myself.
I wouldn't imagine too many professionals would go this direction however. And chocolate makers would probably be dead set against it, since they have already made their chocolate with whatever cocoa butter content they think it should have.

Tempering with Mycryo

Ruth Atkinson Kendrick
@ruth-atkinson-kendrick
12/08/14 09:59:46AM
194 posts

There is a difference between adding cocoa butter and adding Mycryo. With Mycryo you are adding beta crystals, not just cocoa butter. Of course the cocoa butter is the beta 5 crystals, but just plain cocoa butter isn't the same thing.

Brad Churchill
@brad-churchill
12/09/14 12:35:50AM
527 posts

Callebaut's reasons are self serving to say the least.

At no time do I advocate adding cocoa butter during the tempering process, whether it's properly crystalized or not. For the most part, the viscosity of a good couverture can be controlled by temperature and crystalization.