Tempering Problem

Joe2
@joe2
07/26/15 10:48:32AM
4 posts

Hi, This is my first attempt at making chocolate from beans. I attached a photo of the chocolate I attempted to temper. Does anyone know where I went wrong from just looking at that formation of crystals? 

I used a doulble boiler. Took the chocolate up to 124 F, then cooled it to 84 F just using a fan and stirring the chocolate in the bowl. Then brought it back up to 90 F and put it in the molds.

Thanks for any help offered!

Temperingproblem.jpg
Temperingproblem.jpg  •  1.9MB

Tony.n
@tonny
07/26/15 06:20:34PM
54 posts

How did you cool it down from 124 to 84? How fast?

How did you bring it up from 84 to 90?

Thomas Snuggs
@thomas-snuggs
07/26/15 06:28:26PM
23 posts

The chocolate was either not tempered when it was molded or lost it in the mold. Did you test the chocolate prior to molding? If the test was ok, then your chocolate was not in a cool enough environment while it set. What was the ambient temp while in the molds? I usually cool my dark chocolate to 80 to 81 F in a cold water bath when tempering. 

Joe2
@joe2
07/26/15 07:03:28PM
4 posts

I just left the chocolate in the double boiler bowl and stir it with a fan blowing on the choc. It was a slow process. Probablt took over ten minutes to drop down to 84 F

I put the bowl back over the steaming water for 15-20 secs to bring it back to 90 F.

I did not test the choc before molding. How do I test? The room temperature is 72 F and I used food grade silicon molds.

When do you do the cooling in the bath? 

Thomas Snuggs
@thomas-snuggs
07/26/15 07:24:27PM
23 posts

Always test your chocolate for temper. Place a little on the back of a spoon or on a piece of wax paper. It should set in a few minutes and have a nice snap. If not, then it has not been tempered.