4 hours to complete two molds?

Andre Costa
@andre-costa
03/12/09 11:31:08AM
103 posts
I hope I am not yelled yet (again). I know a lot of you guys have experience with chocolate, but I am a complete newbie and I am still trying to find my way around the business of homemade chocolate.I spent 4 hours to complete 2 molds and it feels like a very long time to work on it. The ganache part was simple and fast, but tempering took forever.I do think my lack of experience is making my process a little disorganized, but I was wondering what your thoughts are on how to better make chocolate at home without spending all night long on it (unless, of course, I am working on several batches)?If I cannot invest in a tempering machine at the moment, is there something else I could do to expedite things? I am not looking for shortcuts that will compromise the quality of the chocolate, but pointers that I could test.Thank youAndre CostaChocolatier-to-be
updated by @andre-costa: 04/11/15 01:56:38AM
John DePaula
@john-depaula
03/12/09 11:55:38AM
45 posts
Since you posted in the "Micro-Batch "Homebrew" Chocolate" forum, I assume you're talking about making chocolate from bean to bar; however, you then talk about making a ganache so now I'm leaning toward thinking that you started with couverture and are having tempering problems.Could you provide more details about what you're doing and problems you've encountered - then we can be better able to help you out.
Andre Costa
@andre-costa
03/12/09 12:11:53PM
103 posts