Label ingredients? Nutrition Facts

Karen H.
@karen-h
03/07/10 11:35:00AM
4 posts

I"m getting such a run around on this topic even call FDA but the hold for an answer is taking hours. But my question is do we have to put all ingriendents on our products once we start selling online or in person even is your a very small bus? Also do we have to put the Nutritin Facts and if so do anyone have a lead on how to do this? I was ready to launch my site when it came to mind and don't want to put myself in any hot water before I get started.

I thought I read somewhere if you have less than 10 full time employees and make and sales few than 10,000 units you are exempt. (NY) just want to be clear.

Thanks a bunch

updated by @karen-h: 04/21/15 12:43:13PM
MelodyB
@melodyb
03/08/10 01:13:31AM
8 posts
Hi,I can't speak for food exactly but I know in cosmetics that all ingredients must be listed on the packaging.I've had extensive experience with the FDA on cosmetics and know first hand that ignorance is never an excuse.I quickly looked at the FDA website and here is a link to a few pages that list all of the guidelines: http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/GuidanceDocuments/FoodLabelingNutrition/default.htm When I have time I am going to read these CFR as it looks like there are some exceptions to the rules.21 CFR 101.9(j)(1) and 21 CFR 101.36(h)(1) a http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/GuidanceDocuments/FoodLabelingNutrition/UCM053857 am interest to hear other people that are already selling chocolate's experiences and advice as well!Best of luck to you,Melody
Brendan
@brendan
03/08/10 07:41:24AM
21 posts