rich creamy fillings without the cream

Claire North
@claire-north
04/29/10 07:43:20PM
13 posts
I hope there is someone out there who can help me...I am new at the chocolate world and I am looking for a recipie for a smooth rich and creamy filling for chocolates that I can flavour with various flavourings but I do not want to use cream or milk. I am in Florida and the weather can be very hot and humid therefore I am willing to use butter but am scared of cream turning...is there anyone out there who can help me or is this a big no-no to ask for recipies?????? Someone I know worked at publix bakeries and she uses the creamy centers that she learned there and it does not have cream or milk but will not tell me the recipie...thanks everyone
updated by @claire-north: 07/07/15 02:45:17PM
Brad Churchill
@brad-churchill
04/29/10 08:28:30PM
527 posts
I don't think it's a no-no to ask for recipes. The whole purpose of an online forum is to share ideas and help each other.Having said that, I would revisit your decision to use butter rather than cream. Butter goes rancid too. Having said that, you could use clarified butter, which will prolong the life of your product somewhat, while at the same time still give you a "melt in the mouth" center.I would experiment with a ganache recipe, and instead of using cream to soften the chocolate, use clarified butter (just not with a 1-1 substitution!). You will need to experiment a bit.Just watch your overall fat content. It can get VERY high.Cheers,Brad www.SoChoklat.com
Claire North
@claire-north
05/05/10 07:10:57AM
13 posts
I also think that sweetened condensed milk might work too......
Mark Heim
@mark-heim
05/05/10 08:12:23PM
101 posts
Any soft fat or many oils can be used, just watch the flavor they bring. Also consider a nut praline to make a gianduja. They are especially nice with other brown flavors.
Claire North
@claire-north
05/06/10 12:01:48AM
13 posts
Thanks for all your advice everyone
Robyn Rice-Foster
@robyn-rice-foster