Mol d'Art 6 kg Chocolate Tempering Machine

Christopher M Koshak
@christopher-m-koshak
04/11/11 07:24:16PM
15 posts
I am new to The Chocolate Life, and am planning to open a shop and am gathering equipment, has anybody used the Mol d'Art 6 kg temperer? http://www.tcfsales.com/shopexd.asp?id=248&bc=no I was planning to buy a Revolation Delta machine but if I can have a bigger machine for a cheaper cost I am all for that. Does it work as well as the Revolation without the baffle? Any insight would be appreciated.Chris
updated by @christopher-m-koshak: 04/10/15 06:37:44PM
Brad Churchill
@brad-churchill
04/11/11 08:51:43PM
527 posts

If you are going to be working with chocolate on an ongoing basis (ie all day), then you need a piece of equipment that will continually agitate the chocolate when it's in temper. The size of the machine will depend on how much chocolate you need to temper throughout the day. We currently usetwo different types of machines in our shop - Pavoni Mini-Temper machines for hand dipping (holds and agitates about 10lbs at a time), and Savage 50lb tempering kettles. Both are semi-automatic, meaning they cycle through the temperatures for your chocolate, and can be programmed to make tempering almost dummy proof. The Pavoni's are fabulous for that and completely automatic, whereas the Savage machines require manual intervention at certain points, but trigger a buzzer when each point is reached.Each Savage machine (we have 2) will easily temper 100lbs of chocolate every 8 hours.

In my opinion, if you are working with chocolate all day, you need machines that will step through the tempering cycle for you, and continually agitate the chocolate. This will allow you to do other things, instead of standing there, stirring, and babysitting your chocolate.

Cheers.

Brad

Ruth Atkinson Kendrick
@ruth-atkinson-kendrick
04/11/11 09:54:22PM
194 posts

http://www.tcfsales.com/shopexd.asp?id=248&bc=no