Outsourcing chocolate production

Daniel Gaal
@daniel-gaal
03/21/12 12:00:54AM
6 posts

Hi everyone,

I am a student from McGill University working on a business project to produce chocolate spoons for consumption with frozen desserts. I am trying to determine the cost of manufacturing 2500kg of dark chocolate in the form of chocolate spoons (a complete spoon), which is about 275,000 spoons.

The dimensions we have used for the spoons are the following:

4 inches in length, 1 inch width, depth of an inch.
Each spoon is estimated to weigh 9 grams.

The percentage of chocolate desired is 72%.

Would you be able to estimate a cost to manufacture this?

I sent this email to Barry Callebaut as well but I am not sure if they will give a quote on a student project. So if anyone could give some advice on a general number we could expect to pay I would be very greatful!

EDIT: A company replied to me with a quote, case closed. Thank you everyone!

In case anyone wanted to know, they said they would charge us 25 cents per spoon.

Thank you kindly!
Regards,
Daniel G.

updated by @daniel-gaal: 04/10/15 07:37:24PM
Jonathan Simpkins
@jonathan-simpkins
03/21/12 12:19:58AM
11 posts

Please give us more details.

brian horsley
@brian-horsley
03/21/12 12:30:44AM
48 posts

Hi Daniel, are you seeking quotes to potentially actually do this, or just to get numbers for a school project? I can ask at a factory here in Peru that does that kind of small chocolate run, but i can't waste their time on a purely theoretical problem.

saludos,

brian

Daniel Gaal
@daniel-gaal
03/21/12 12:41:40AM
6 posts

Hi Brian,

Unfortunately it is a school project (i cannot say if we will undertake this in the future).

Daniel Gaal
@daniel-gaal
03/21/12 12:50:40AM
6 posts

I do not know much about chocolate, so I only specified dark chocolate. Assume it is "standard" dark chocolate and not very expensive.