Fermented cacao beans wanted

Dan Bieser
@dan-bieser
04/22/12 04:31:12PM
3 posts

I am new to chocolate life and am looking for information on how to buy/import cacao beans from other countries. I am thinking about getting 100 kilos each, from a variety of countries to make some bean to bar.

Is it easiest/cheapest to buy from an importer, and who would people recommend?

If I went to costa rica, found a great farmer, bought some beans, how would I get them home?

Where can I find a listing of fair prices for cacao so I have something to compare to?

Thanks, Dan

updated by @dan-bieser: 06/29/23 06:49:02PM
Peter Kring
@peter-kring
04/22/12 09:29:24PM
8 posts

Hi Dan

You might contact Juan Pablo Buchert in costa Rica juan@chocolate-nahua.com

There is also a cooperative that ships cacao from the Southern Caribbean of CR called APPTA

You can research commodity prices on-line. Prices in-country could fall in the $3.50 to $5 per kg range for pretty good cacao.

Peter

Tupaemanaia Steve Brown
@tupaemanaia-steve-brown
06/12/12 12:48:09PM
3 posts

Hi Dan -Cocoa Samoa Limited (CSL) hasgot 4-day and 7-day fermented sun-dried Trinitario cocoa beans for sale in 10kg and 20kg bags, direct from our growers, all beautifully sorted. Price is $USD12/kg FOB - you pay the postage and insurance on top of this price (allow $USD7-17/kg airfreight around the world - by ship can take 4 weeks plus, but is cheaper). We are currently sending 400kg to 5 new roasters, we now have 2 batches of 70% dark chocolate made in Adelaide and Melbourne (Australia) - this is just our first sample packaging

1145-100gSamoaGoldBox50thHoward1.jpg