CocoaT roaster?

Holly Hukill
@holly-hukill
07/24/11 02:29:51AM
5 posts
Does anyone have experience with the CocoaTown roasters? If so, would you recommend them?
updated by @holly-hukill: 04/12/15 05:21:48PM
Brad Churchill
@brad-churchill
07/25/11 03:46:48AM
527 posts

Hi Holly;

I have no experience with a CocoaTown roaster. However I CAN tell you that a convection oven does a FABULOUS job, and serves a dual purpose allowing you to make baked goods as well.

Remember: cooking ANYTHING is simply about heat and airflow. A convection oven offers both.

Brad Churchill

Choklat

Holly Hukill
@holly-hukill
07/27/11 01:13:03PM
5 posts

Hi Brad,

Thanks for your reply. I've read a couple of reviews favoring roasters over convection ovens, and was considering buying a roaster to optimize the flavor of the beans. However, as I already have use of a convection oven, I'm going to try that before making a (possibly unnecessary) purchase.

Thanks!

Holly

Clay Gordon
@clay
07/27/11 07:55:39PM
1,680 posts

Holly:

What size roaster are you looking for? I've been researching electric roaster options in the 10-15lb range that should appeal to people looking to use actual roasters, not convection ovens. The ones I am looking into have been designed for coffee but have been used for roasting cocoa beans for many years so the design is proven.

IMO, a roaster that tumbles beans should be able to do a superior job of evenly distributing heat consistently from batch to batch. It requires more time and attention (in my experience) to get consistently even roasts across multiple batches in a convection oven, even when using perforated pans. (Obviously Brad has a different opinion. YMMV.) While a commercial convection oven may be less expensive (and I would be happy to sell you one of the best and most cost effective 5-pan ovens from ABS at a ChocolateLife member discount if that's the route you decide to go) it's not just the initial price, it's total cost of ownership, including labor.