ChocoMa E220... anyones thoughts on the best small scale Enrobing system?!

Marcus Rowe
@marcus-rowe
02/17/12 02:03:10AM
3 posts

Dear Fellow Chocolate Folks

My brother and I are in the beginning phases of setting up a small chocolate business, initially focusing on created enrobed chocolate bars (ie candy bars). Does anyone have any relevant experience with the different selection of brands/machines available for small scale enrobing?

Top of the list at the moment is the ChocoMa E220, however I am aware that Prefamac, FBM, Hilliards and some others offer tempering and enrobing units for similar prices. (We're ideally looking for a machine which will enable us to make chocolate moulds as well). A machine which can keep chocolate at the right temper for prolonged periods which be an advantage I am imagining.

Anyway, I am really a bit of a novice, having no experience using any of these machines, so I wonder if there are any folks wiser than myself who could offer a few tips of wisdom!!

Many thanks :)

Marcus

updated by @marcus-rowe: 04/13/15 03:46:37AM
Laura Marion
@laura-marion
02/18/12 07:40:00AM
27 posts

i have used chocoma andselmi i likeselmi's as they areportable and easy to workwith the chocoma i worked with was a very old one much older then the one you are looking at

Brian Donaghy
@brian-donaghy
02/18/12 09:51:26PM
58 posts

Marcus

I would look at the Selmi equipment as well as some of the ones you have listed. They provide the versatility you discuss. Let me know if you have additional questions about Selmi.

brian

Clay Gordon
@clay
02/19/12 08:45:08AM
1,680 posts

Marcus:

When you say "small scale" enrobing, what kind of throughput are you talking about? Some of the systems that support enrobing lines have large (25kg) work bowls with a nominal throughput of up to 100kg an hour (if you have a supply of melted chocolate on hand to re-fill the work bowl).