Looking for a partner in New York City

Andre Costa
@andre-costa
11/05/11 02:40:35PM
103 posts

Hi everyone.

I am a graduate from Ecole Chocolat from 2009, and 2 years later I still don't have my own chocolate business!

After a lot of thinking, I believe the main reason is that I can't do it alone. Just like in almost any business, a partner is essential to a startup - without that, for me, chocolate will always be a hobby, which is not what I am looking for.

So I am reaching out to the forum members who live in New York City and who are on the same boat I am now:

- I work full time (in Brooklyn).

- I don't have a lot of money to start something fancy, so working smart for me is the way to go.

- I want to create a business that, eventually, will allow me to quit my 9-to-5 so I can work full time in the business.

What I have in place so far:

- The company is called DaCosta Chocolates and is registered as a LLC.

- Insurance (paid until August 2012).

- A commercial kitchen we could use. The kitchen belongs to a catering company, which is located in Brooklyn, which means we could have access to the kitchen when they are not working on it. There are other options also available when it comes to kitchens. We can discuss when we talk in person.

- I have a great accountant that is very inexpensive and very sensible to the needs of small business owners - as he is a small business owner himself.

So, if you want to start working towards a great business with a nice guy (I am a very nice guy!!), drop me a note. I want to take it slowly, and build the business in a way that won't burn us out - but the main goal is to create a serious company that will make us money, and keep us happy by doing what we love!

Andre Costa

updated by @andre-costa: 04/10/15 02:49:50PM
Lydia Olsen
@lydia-olsen
12/28/11 03:31:19PM
3 posts

I am in the same boat here in Atlanta. Would you consider moving?? I have been making chocolate for many years and it is more than a one person job.