Corn Syrup

Andre Costa
@andre-costa
03/05/09 11:42:17AM
103 posts
I thought I've seen a thread called "How do you make your truffles" (or something similar), but I could not find it.I am very new to bonbon and truffle making (got yet to get started), but during a class I took at ICE in NYC, we were told that although their recipes called for corn syrup, we could make the ganaches without it.Do you use corn syrup? Why (or why not)? I would like a better understanding on this ingredient.Thanks,Andre CostaChocolatier-to-be
updated by @andre-costa: 04/11/15 01:06:37PM
Andre Costa
@andre-costa
03/06/09 11:24:21AM
103 posts
So basically if a recipe asks for corn syrup, I can simply disregard the ingredient? Or should I replace it with something else - it does add sweetness, correct?
John DePaula
@john-depaula
03/06/09 06:11:48PM
45 posts
Oh my gosh, you certainly don't want to omit it. Doing so would drastically alter the balance of the recipe and reduce the shelf-life as well.Typically, you can substitute glucose roughly 1:1. You can try substituting other sweeteners, but you'll have to rebalance the level of sweetness. Honey, for example, can be used but it shifts the flavor profile in a direction that may not be desirable since honey is not very neutral.
Andre Costa
@andre-costa
03/06/09 10:56:03PM
103 posts
I guess my major concern is whether corn syrup can be bad for one's health. I hear different things from different people.
Clay Gordon
@clay
03/07/09 12:35:00PM
1,680 posts
Water is bad for your health if you drink too much of it.The amount of corn syrup you're talking about in a single piece is fractions of a gram. In that amount is it better or worse (considered solely from a health perspective) than refined white sugar?Probably not.You're over thinking this. There are far more important things to worry about when it comes to chocolate.

--
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
clay - http://www.thechocolatelife.com/clay/
John DePaula
@john-depaula